Wednesday, August 2, 2017

The Daily Booktalk: Waiting on Wednesday: Hooper by Geoff Herbach

Hooper by Geoff Herbach. 336 p. HarperCollins Publishers, February 20, 2018. 9780062453112,

Publisher synopsis: From Geoff Herbach, the critically acclaimed author of the Stupid Fast series, comes a compelling new YA novel about basketball, prejudice, privilege, and family, perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Peña.

For Adam Reed, basketball is a passport. Adam’s basketball skills have taken him from an orphanage in Poland to a loving adoptive mother in Minnesota. When he’s tapped to play on a select AAU team along with some of the best players in the state, it just confirms that basketball is his ticket to the good life: to new friendships, to the girl of his dreams, to a better future.

But life is more complicated off the court. When an incident with the police threatens to break apart the bonds Adam’s finally formed after a lifetime of struggle, he must make an impossible choice between his new family and the sport that’s given him everything.

I adore Geoff Herbach's books and am so ridiculously excited about this!

No comments:

Post a Comment